19 Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta 2022 Media Guide ABOUT BALLOON FIESTA The Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta is an event internationally recognized as the sport’s premier event and is produced by a private, non- profit corporation. Throughout its previous 49 events, the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta event has brought a sense of fun and adventure to Albuquerque and the world that is unmatched. It has grown from a quaint launch of 13 balloons in 1972 to the massive nine-day celebration it has become today. 2022 Marks the 50th event for the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta powered by Exxon Mobil. During Balloon Fiesta, guests can expect to see more than 600 balloons participating in early morning Mass Ascensions, enchanting Special Shape balloons filling the skies, and, in the evening, 200 balloons light up the evening sky with Balloon Glows and spectacular fireworks. On the first Saturday evening, gas balloons launch at dusk to the strains of the team country’s national anthem, floating slowly up and away competing in a distance competition as a part of the America’s Challenge Gas Balloon Race. All of the balloons launch from Balloon Fiesta Park, a 78-acre grassed field – the size of 56 football fields. Pilots participating in the competitive events will launch off site and fly towards Balloon Fiesta Park on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday during the event. ALBUQUERQUE INTERNATIONAL BALLOON FIESTA MISSION STATEMENT To conduct the world’s premier ballooning event, while promoting the sport of ballooning, the City of Albuquerque and the State of New Mexico, nationally and internationally. BALLOON FIESTA BOARD OF DIRECTORS The Balloon Fiesta is managed throughout the year by a volunteer board of up to 24 directors. In addition to event planning, they address complex policy, administrative, safety and traffic issues. Each year, the board elects officers; the 2022 Officers are President Al Tetreault, Vice-President Judy Nakamura, Secretary Neil Jackson and Treasurer Richard (Dick) Rice. Directors include JR Allison, Ray Bair, Gary D. Bennett, Jay Czar, John Davis, Barbara Fricke, Cheryl Frost, Jim Garcia, Matt Guthrie, Steve Komadina, M.D., Jeff Lawrence, Rod May, Tom McConnell, M.D., Doug Schwebach, Harry T. Season, Jr., John Sena, Mark Sullivan, Bill Walker and Ty Young. During the 50th event, the board of directors will recognize the work of long-time board member Frank A. Mezzancello, who passed away earlier this year. The Balloon Fiesta Board members work tirelessly behind the scenes; it is a tremendous commitment, requiring more than wearing the official Balloon Fiesta jacket. Our community is fortunate to have such dedicated neighbors who are committed to providing the City, the State, the country and the world the greatest ballooning event year after year.

50th Media Guide - Page 23 50th Media Guide Page 22 Page 24